Everyone is different/the same

“Things like this are why I don’t proclaim my very real faith to the world at large.”

I came across this comment a while ago while sniffing around online. I think that statements like this are just sad.

  1. If anything is keeping you from proclaiming your faith (what you consider truth) to anyone, maybe you need to rethink some things.
  2. If you are embarrassed by what your faith is, how can anyone take your faith seriously?
  3. Whatever your faith is, it doesn’t sound very real to me right now.

Now to be fair it was referencing something that horribly/falsely represents Christianity. And I think they just wrote this caught up in the moment in response. I mean we all do that sometime or another. But maybe we need to watch what we say/type. Especially when it concerns our faith.

An alarmingly large number of “young-new-age” Christians are very proudly declaring their differences(being democrats, believing in conflicting beliefs, going against ‘the-norm-of-Christianity’). Now this is cool. I mean, being a republican isn’t one of the pillars of Christianity. In fact Christ calls us to be different from the world. Our lives should be demanding explanations from the rest of society. But at some point, this gets a little dangerous. You can only believe in different takes on Christian theology to a point, after that it isn’t Christianity anymore.

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Everyone is different/the same”

  1. Cory says :

    I agree. I think we've both had our fair share of "extremists" to know that there are just some things you have to agree on. Fortunate for us, that was easy to figure out considering they were pretty much whackos. I'm sure you can figure out who I'm talking about.

  2. Niall says :

    An alarmingly large number of "young-new-age" Christians are very proudly declaring their differences(being democrats, believing in conflicting beliefs, going against 'the-norm-of-Christianity'). Now this is cool. I mean, being a republican isn't one of the pillars of Christianity. In fact Christ calls us to be different from the world. Our lives should be demanding explanations from the rest of society. But at some point, this gets a little dangerous. You can only believe in different takes on Christian theology to a point, after that it isn't Christianity anymore.Elaborate? Just want to know what you're thinkin.

  3. Padfoot240 says :

    Ummm, I think its pretty much explained there…What are you wondering about?

  4. Niall says :

    Well are you saying – Republican party isn't a pillar of christianity. It's cool lately. But really, you should be a republican.Or is this read as – Republican party isn't a pillar of christianity. We're called to be different. Let's make sure we don't stray that far.See my discrepancy? I just want you to elaborate on that last sentence that I posted. Are we over studying the bible? What areas have we done this in? Is post-modernism (if that is what you are talking about) ruining christianity? That's what I'm looking for.

  5. Padfoot240 says :

    I'm still confused.I'm not sure what discrepancy you are reading…I never said anyone should be republican, and I'm not sure what you mean by the word that in "that far."Over studying the Bible? What?I guess you could place the "need to be different" in post-modernism, but I'm not really talking about everything post-modernism. I'm talking about how the new cool thing to do is to be different, to do the opposite. As Christians we are already supposed to do the opposite of what the world says we should do. So, this is obviously a danger for the Christian life since doing the opposite of what the Christian norm(the opposite of the world) is seen as cool.

Leave a Reply

